Comparison

Looking for a TheDOJOApp alternative?

Short answer: BlackBeltCRM publishes every price: $49 to $249 a month by active members, every feature on every plan. TheDOJOApp pricing model: One plan at any size: $99 a month for the first location and $49 a month for each additional location, plus a $99 setup fee. Card payments run through Stripe at 2.35% + $0.30. Both ladders are below, checked against the sources listed at the bottom.

A branded member app for martial arts schools, sold as one flat plan per location. Here is where BlackBeltCRM is stronger, with both price ladders side by side, checked on 1 November 2026 against the sources listed at the bottom.

The difference that is not a feature

Most membership platforms tell you how many members you have. Very few tell you why they leave — and that is not a screen somebody forgot to build, it is a consequence of how long they have been keeping records and in what shape.

BlackBeltCRM has been running membership businesses since 2011 and keeps the whole record: every status change, every promotion, every attendance mark, every payment. That is what makes cohort retention curves, tenure at cancellation and churn as a rate possible. A platform holding two years of shallow data cannot produce them by adding a report.

See the retention reports

TheDOJOApp and BlackBeltCRM, row by row

Last checked October 2026

Swipe the table sideways to see every competitor.

FeatureBlackBeltCRMTheDOJOApp
Price published on the websiteYes$49 to $249 a month by active members, every feature on every plan.Yes$99/month first location, $49 each additional, $99 setup fee.
Monthly cost at 75 active students$119$119 a month (Club, 51 to 100 members).$99$99/month for one location at any size, plus a $99 setup fee.
No contract requiredYesMonth to month. No contract, no setup fee.YesNo cancellation fees; cancel anytime without penalty.
Keeps no percent of your tuitionYesFlat monthly price. Card payments 2.75% + 35¢ each, everything included.YesFlat monthly price; cards through Stripe at 2.35% + $0.30, which can be passed to the buyer.
Families billed in your own nameYesFamilies pay in your name, on your own rules.Not publishedName shown on family statements is not stated.
Money goes straight to your merchant accountYesMerchant account opened through our partner, held in the business's name.Not publishedPayments run through Stripe; whose account the money lands in is not stated.
Warning before a student quitsYesAt-risk warnings on Home, with a one-tap come-back message.Not publishedNo at-risk warning described.
Retention, churn-rate and tenure reportsYesCohort retention, tenure at cancellation, churn as a rate.Not publishedIncome and payment notices only; no retention or churn report named.
AI reading of your businessYesA daily AI reading of your numbers on Home; every figure checked against your own data before it shows.Not publishedNo AI reading of the business described.
AI helper inside the softwareYesAsk how to do anything; steps for the screen you are on, from our help, in English or Spanish.Not publishedNo AI helper described.
Free import from your old softwareYesFree self-service import on every new account, with a preview and undo.Not publishedData migration from another system is not mentioned.
English and SpanishYesApp and emails in English and Spanish.Not publishedSpanish is not mentioned.
Belts, ranks and testingYesRanks per program, promotion history and testing fees.PartlyBelt progress updated in a few clicks; a testing workflow is not described.
Two-way textingYesTwo-way texting from your own number, with an inbox and automations; a paid add-on per location.Not publishedUnlimited SMS texts included; two-way texting is not stated.
Automatic lead follow-upYesLead pipeline with automatic follow-up emails and texts.Not publishedNo lead pipeline or automatic follow-up described.
Marketing tools built inYesLead forms, Google review requests, online join and pay, and a referral program.PartlyInvite-a-friend and targeted group messages in the app.
Social media postsIn developmentIn development: AI-written posts from your own business's data; you approve them, then post in one tap, and we show which posts brought in new members.Not publishedSocial media posting is not mentioned.
Website for your businessComingComing January 2027: pick a template you can adjust, or have us design a professional site for a one-time fee. Hosting is a monthly fee. Schedule, prices, lead forms and online join come live from your BlackBeltCRM.Not publishedA website service is not mentioned.
Paid ads run for youNoWe do not run ads for you.Not publishedAd management is not mentioned.
Branded app in the app storesIn planningYour own branded app in the App Store and Google Play is in planning; today the member portal adds to the phone's home screen.YesOne shared App Store app that loads each martial arts school’s logo and content.
Sources and dates

Each competitor fact was read on its vendor's own public pages on the date shown; "Not published" means the vendor does not state it publicly. "Coming", "In development" and "In planning" mark our own features that are not live yet. Prices and features change, so check their sites, and tell us if something here is out of date.

Where we are stronger

Up to 25 members we are $49 a month against their $99, and from 26 to 50 we are $79. There is no setup fee with us; theirs is $99. Each extra location is $39 with us against their $49. Families are billed on one family account with card or bank autopay, and you choose whether families pay a card surcharge or you keep one all-in rate. Lead forms and a lead pipeline, signed agreements, exams, a QR check-in kiosk and the retention reporting, cohort curves, tenure at cancellation and churn as a rate, are on every plan.

Pricing, side by side

TheDOJOApp: One plan at any size: $99 a month for the first location and $49 a month for each additional location, plus a $99 setup fee. Card payments run through Stripe at 2.35% + $0.30.

TheDOJOApp

First location, any size$99plus a $99 setup fee
Each additional location$49

BlackBeltCRM

Up to 25 members$49
26 – 50 members$79
51 – 100 members$119
101 – 250 members$159
251 – 500 members$199
501+ members$249

Every feature is on every plan. Nothing is held back for a higher tier and there are no per-staff charges. Charged on top only if you use them: extra Locations at $39 each, payment processing, and text messaging. Card payments are 2.75% + 35¢ each, everything included, plus $20 a month per location; bank payments are 25¢.

Switching

The trial is free, asks for no card, and switches every feature on. Bring one program across and run it alongside what you have — that is a more honest test than any demo, including ours.

A new account starts on BlackBeltCRM 2027 with the free import tool. You import your members yourself during the trial:export your members from TheDOJOApp as a spreadsheet, see every family and member before anything is written, and undo it if you change your mind. How the import works. If somebody tells you migration is effortless, ask them to show you your own file first.

Sources

TheDOJOApp pricing verified 1 November 2026 from:

Their pricing changes and ours has gone stale before, which is why these pages carry a date. If you are reading this well after the date above, check their site — and tell us, so we can fix it.

Comparing more than one?

Most people are. Here is the same treatment for the rest.

Try it against your own numbers

Free to try, no card, no contract. Or work out what churn is costing you first — two numbers, no sign-up.

Start free trial

Switching is a file, not a project.

Export from your old system, import it here and check every family before anything is saved. If something looks wrong, undo it.

Switching is a file, not a project
Import your members from your old system’s export, free at any size. You see every family before anything is saved, and you can undo it.
No contract, no card to start
Free to try. Export your members to CSV or Excel any time, without asking us.
$49 a month, every feature
Priced by the size of your membership. No setup fee, no per-staff charge, no feature held for a higher plan.
English and Spanish
Each person on your team picks English or Spanish, and emails go out in each family’s language.