Comparison
Looking for a Spark Membership alternative?
Short answer: BlackBeltCRM publishes every price: $49 to $249 a month by active members, every feature on every plan. Spark Membership pricing model: Flat monthly, not by member count, after an eight-week free trial. Ignite (website and content) is an add-on. Both ladders are below, checked against the sources listed at the bottom.
Martial arts and kickboxing, sold on sales and follow-up. Here is where BlackBeltCRM is stronger, with both price ladders side by side, checked on 24 October 2026 against the sources listed at the bottom.
The difference that is not a feature
Most membership platforms tell you how many members you have. Very few tell you why they leave — and that is not a screen somebody forgot to build, it is a consequence of how long they have been keeping records and in what shape.
BlackBeltCRM has been running membership businesses since 2011 and keeps the whole record: every status change, every promotion, every attendance mark, every payment. That is what makes cohort retention curves, tenure at cancellation and churn as a rate possible. A platform holding two years of shallow data cannot produce them by adding a report.
Spark Membership and BlackBeltCRM, row by row
Spark publishes its own comparison with us. Ours covers the rows a business owner pays for, including the ones where Spark is ahead, and every fact links to the page it came from.
Swipe the table sideways to see every competitor.
| Feature | BlackBeltCRM | Spark Membership |
|---|---|---|
| Price published on the website | Yes$49 to $249 a month by active members, every feature on every plan. | Yes$199/month after an 8-week free trial; one plan, no tiers listed. |
| Monthly cost at 75 active students | $119$119 a month (Club, 51 to 100 members). | $199$199/month; fee the same at 200 or 1,000 students. |
| No contract required | YesMonth to month. No contract, no setup fee. | YesMonth-to-month, cancel anytime; no long-term contract. |
| Keeps no percent of your tuition | YesFlat monthly price. Card payments 2.75% + 35¢ each, everything included. | YesFlat monthly fee; card processing averages 2.86%. |
| Families billed in your own name | YesFamilies pay in your name, on your own rules. | Not publishedName shown on family card statements is not stated. |
| Money goes straight to your merchant account | YesMerchant account opened through our partner, held in the business's name. | NoUS/Canada must use Spark's in-house merchant; outside them, own Stripe. |
| Warning before a student quits | YesAt-risk warnings on Home, with a one-tap come-back message. | Not publishedAttendance reports and milestone automations; no at-risk alert described. |
| Retention, churn-rate and tenure reports | YesCohort retention, tenure at cancellation, churn as a rate. | PartlyCancelled Memberships and conversion reports; no churn-rate or tenure report named. |
| AI reading of your business | YesA daily AI reading of your numbers on Home; every figure checked against your own data before it shows. | YesSparkAI Business Intelligence Reporting analyzes attendance, attrition and marketing data. |
| AI helper inside the software | YesAsk how to do anything; steps for the screen you are on, from our help, in English or Spanish. | Not publishedNo staff how-to assistant described; SparkAI Email Writer drafts emails. |
| Free import from your old software | YesFree self-service import on every new account, with a preview and undo. | YesFree student data migration listed on the pricing page. |
| English and Spanish | YesApp and emails in English and Spanish. | Not publishedSpanish is not mentioned on the pricing, offer or help pages read. |
| Belts, ranks and testing | YesRanks per program, promotion history and testing fees. | YesBelt history and rank progression with testing built in. |
| Two-way texting | YesTwo-way texting from your own number, with an inbox and automations; a paid add-on per location. | YesSpark SMS is two-way; text credits are sold separately. |
| Automatic lead follow-up | YesLead pipeline with automatic follow-up emails and texts. | YesAutomated lead, trial and reactivation campaigns by email and SMS. |
| Marketing tools built in | YesLead forms, Google review requests, online join and pay, and a referral program. | YesMember app referrals, reviews posted to Google, in-app membership sales; Ignite landing pages. |
| Social media posts | In developmentIn development: AI-written posts from your own business's data; you approve them, then post in one tap, and we show which posts brought in new members. | YesIgnite add-on ($199/mo): monthly calendar of daily ready-made posts; who publishes is not stated. |
| Website for your business | ComingComing January 2027: pick a template you can adjust, or have us design a professional site for a one-time fee. Hosting is a monthly fee. Schedule, prices, lead forms and online join come live from your BlackBeltCRM. | YesIgnite add-on ($199/mo) builds the website during $1 setup. |
| Paid ads run for you | NoWe do not run ads for you. | NoIgnite FAQ: "We don't" run ads; provides ad copy and guides. |
| Branded app in the app stores | In planningYour own branded app in the App Store and Google Play is in planning; today the member portal adds to the phone's home screen. | YesWhite-label app: $1,200 first year, then $499/year. |
Sources and dates
Each competitor fact was read on its vendor's own public pages on the date shown; "Not published" means the vendor does not state it publicly. "Coming", "In development" and "In planning" mark our own features that are not live yet. Prices and features change, so check their sites, and tell us if something here is out of date.
- BlackBeltCRM: blackbeltcrm.com/pricing, blackbeltcrm.com, blackbeltcrm.com/features/analytics, blackbeltcrm.com/ai-gym-software, blackbeltcrm.com/switching, blackbeltcrm.com/features/support, blackbeltcrm.com/markets/martial-arts, blackbeltcrm.com/features/communications, blackbeltcrm.com/features/leads-trials, blackbeltcrm.com/features, blackbeltcrm.com/features/member-portal
- Spark Membership: sparkmembership.com/spark-membership-pricing, sparkmembership.com/special-offer, help.sparkmembership.com/en/articles/5273152-merchant-and-merchant-fees-information, help.sparkmembership.com/en/articles/15934015-how-do-i-set-up-and-manage-automations-based-on-attendance-milestones-in-spark-membership, help.sparkmembership.com/en/articles/14672656-how-can-i-track-and-troubleshoot-trial-and-membership-performance-metrics-in-spark-minds, sparkmembership.com/business-intelligence-reporting, sparkmembership.com/ai-email-writer, sparkmembership.com/compare/black-belt-alternative, sparkmembership.com/app, sparkmembership.com/ignite, help.sparkmembership.com/en/articles/16775010-what-is-the-process-for-setting-up-and-deploying-a-white-label-app-with-spark-membership
Where we are stronger
Their pricing is flat, and they present that as the advantage. Run it against ours at the sizes real businesses actually are. Up to 25 members we are $49 against their $199. At 26 to 50, $79. At 51 to 100, $119. At 101 to 250, $159. From 251 to 500 we are both $199, and above 500 members their flat $199 is $50 a month less than our $249. A business with 60 members pays us $960 a year less. Flat pricing is a good deal for the customer only at the top of the range. Spark also requires businesses in the US and Canada to process cards through Spark's own merchant service; with us the merchant account is held in your business's name.
Pricing, side by side
Spark Membership: Flat monthly, not by member count, after an eight-week free trial. Ignite (website and content) is an add-on.
Spark Membership
| Spark | $199after an 8-week free trial |
| Ignite add-on | $199 |
BlackBeltCRM
| Up to 25 members | $49 |
| 26 – 50 members | $79 |
| 51 – 100 members | $119 |
| 101 – 250 members | $159 |
| 251 – 500 members | $199 |
| 501+ members | $249 |
Every feature is on every plan. Nothing is held back for a higher tier and there are no per-staff charges. Charged on top only if you use them: extra Locations at $39 each, payment processing, and text messaging. Card payments are 2.75% + 35¢ each, everything included, plus $20 a month per location; bank payments are 25¢.
Switching
The trial is free, asks for no card, and switches every feature on. Bring one program across and run it alongside what you have — that is a more honest test than any demo, including ours.
A new account starts on BlackBeltCRM 2027 with the free import tool. You import your members yourself during the trial:choose Spark Membership in the importer for the steps to export your members, see every family and member before anything is written, and undo it if you change your mind. How the import works. If somebody tells you migration is effortless, ask them to show you your own file first.
Sources
Spark Membership pricing verified 24 October 2026 from:
Their pricing changes and ours has gone stale before, which is why these pages carry a date. If you are reading this well after the date above, check their site — and tell us, so we can fix it.
Read more about Spark Membership
Comparing more than one?
Most people are. Here is the same treatment for the rest.
Try it against your own numbers
Free to try, no card, no contract. Or work out what churn is costing you first — two numbers, no sign-up.
Start free trialSwitching is a file, not a project.
Export from your old system, import it here and check every family before anything is saved. If something looks wrong, undo it.
- Switching is a file, not a project
- Import your members from your old system’s export, free at any size. You see every family before anything is saved, and you can undo it.
- No contract, no card to start
- Free to try. Export your members to CSV or Excel any time, without asking us.
- $49 a month, every feature
- Priced by the size of your membership. No setup fee, no per-staff charge, no feature held for a higher plan.
- English and Spanish
- Each person on your team picks English or Spanish, and emails go out in each family’s language.